SCAM Alert!!!

Ok, so I feel pretty stupid, but maybe my temporary lack of judgement can help someone else out.

Last night I got a phone call from a woman claiming to be from Wal-Mart, Inc. She claimed that, as a reward for being a regular customer I was randomly chosen, with 9 other customers from my state, to receive a cash back award of $500. I asked all the right questions. I confirmed the company she was representing (Wal-Mart, Inc.). She gave me her rep ID#. I specifically asked her if there were any strings attached – like being signed up for some club membership, or having to pay shipping of anything, etc.

She repeatedly stated that there were no strings attached. When she got to the part where she was confirming my information, she had my name, my address, she knew that we had used our VISA Debit card to pay for our orders at Wal-Mart. Then she asked for my credit card number. I asked why she needed the card information. She clearly stated that the credit card number was necessary for crediting the $500 cash back award.

In the end, it’s not necessarily that she was convincing. Many conflicting things occurred throughout the phone call that weren’t right. Including the fact that although I requested to speak to someone else at least three times, she refused to let someone else handle the call. Yet, at the same time, I put her through the ringer. Any normal scammer would have hung up with all the questions I asked and all the attitude I gave her.

When it was all said and done, I obviously didn’t feel right about the transaction. I called my bank immediately and they cancelled my card. They also confirmed that deposits cannot be done with a check/debit card. I feel better having handled it through the bank, but I still feel pretty stupid for having been suckered to begin with.

Isn’t it nice that life is really just a series of mistakes?

Leave a Reply

Join me at: SparkPeople.com

Get a free online diet!