Thyme Cough Syrup – UPDATE

In October, I posted a short article about the Thyme Cough Syrup we use. While I still stand by my feelings about this cough syrup, I wanted to make some things clear.

I mentioned that we used this recipe for my son’s wheezing due to RAD. Well, in the beginning part of November, Bud was admitted to the hospital for breathing treatments and his diagnosis was “upgraded” to asthma. It is not a severe case, as such – the only reason he was admitted was because the breathing treatments in the Emergency Room were not working. It took a full 36 hours for him to imrove and he is now on daily treatments for asthma management.

Another thing I want to point out is that while in the hospital, he had a chest x-ray. The x-ray showed the inflamation, of course, but it also showed signs that he had been suffering for 1-2 years without treatment. That said, please understand that most of this time, he had no symptoms whatsoever. We used the cough syrup for his wheezing on two occasions and they were very minor.

While the cough syrup did stop the wheezing, it did not stop the asthma symptoms (inflamation of the aeroli). The cough syrup did minimize the inflammation of the bronchial tubes, which is what you want when you have a cough. Now, being asthmatic, and even with the RAD diagnosis, we cannot give my son cold medicines because they dry out the respiratory system and can cause flare ups. When he has a cold, I will continue to give him the cough syrup, but we will also have to manage his breathing with the asthma medication. I will also continue to use herbs to treat other cold symptoms for him, as well.

I also want to mention that I will, at my earliest convenience, be researching effective herbal treatments for asthma. I’m a little leary of the treatments recommended in Jude’s Herbal because they involve smoke, which is one of his triggers, or coffee. I will keep updating as I find out more about it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Thyme Cough Syrup « Ramblings from the Heart

Leave a Reply

Join me at: SparkPeople.com

Get a free online diet!