The Curse of Autumn Colds

So, I caught a nasty cold from my mom over the weekend. While I’ve been lying in bed feeling miserable, I decided to update my research on herbal remedies.

For most of my life, I have preferred food-type medicines to just taking a pill. There are several reasons.

  1. Drugs, even over-the-counter, make me feel weird. Even simple painkillers, like Tylenol or Advil, give me an odd feeling.
  2. While I appreciate and recognize the knowledge we, as humans, have earned regarding our bodies, illness, and chemical medications, these drugs are still chemicals. I understand that there are people out there who are only alive today because of the wonderful world of medication. However, I do not feel that it should be used as a first resort if we are treating a simple cold or fever.
  3. All symptoms have a purpose. We need to recognize that symptoms are telling us something about what is going on with our bodies. Masking symptoms with over-the-counter medications can be even more harmful than not doing anything at all.

I have a couple of other reasons, but, because I’m not at my best right now, I can’t quite put them into words.

Anyway, I’m going to share the remedies that we use in our house, and maybe they will help someone else as much as they have helped us.

Leave a Reply

Join me at: SparkPeople.com

Get a free online diet!