Apologies…again…

To any of you looking for my homeschool blog, I sincerely apologize. I felt overburdened, so I chose to delete it. I’ve found, on many occasions, that the more I try to compartmentalize my life, the more stressed out I get. I tend to freeze and feel paralyzed when I can’t think of what to say, or if it feels too much like work.

That said, ironically enough, I’ve spent the last 18 mos. or so trying to use unit studies in our homeschool, and I’ve been paralyzed by the fear of not doing those right. This last week, I suddenly decided to do Science, History, and Literature separately. Guess what, we had the best of week of school since our first KONOS unit! Now, I’m not saying we’ve abandoned units all together, but we will certainly keep them in mind as supplements to our school work. I really like the idea of studying a topic from all angles at once, but I tend to get easily overwhelmed sometimes, and planning school in smaller chunks really seemed to ease that fear. We still do those subjects multi-level so all the kids can enjoy the studies, but we’re not doing thematic unit studies right now.

As far as what we’re studying, we’re following the themes from The Well-Trained Mind starting with Ancient History, Ancient Literature, and Biology. This week, we are implementing our new schedule and so far we’ve only made it through Science and Literature, as well as separate meetings with each child for grade level topics (Reading, Writing & ‘Rithmetic).

I’ve toyed with the idea of a firm schedule for several years now. We’ve had some success with it, although I’ve always had a hard time going to bed on time and getting up in the morning (I’m not a morning person). The original idea came from the book Managers of Their Homes (MOTH for short). We’ve modified the idea, mostly because my kids are still of the age that they require a lot of group time – they don’t do so well on an individual basis.

It also occurred to me that using class periods for school time made a lot of sense. It made notating the schedule very easy, and only the class schedule needed to change from one year to the next. Also, it allows for variations on the schedule when other things come up.

For example, we have our base schedule that we use on regular school days.

We also have a shortened schedule, like early release days in the public school, for days when we have to be somewhere or do something but we have to get class time in.

We also have a schedule for “lab days.” This allows for days to work on bigger projects. The schedule spreads two days of class work meeting every other class period on each day for twice the regular time.

Finally, we have light schedules for weekends, or off-school days. A lot of experienced schedule users typically recommend not to do this, however, we’ve found it helpful in our family to have a basic outline of our day before we get up. It makes it easier to plan projects and errands that have to be done on our off days. Plus, it makes it less likely that we’ll forget to eat.

We’ve had a lot of changes this year. Actually, we are a constantly changing family. In years where we weren’t moving, we were having babies. Years with no babies, big things happened. Anyway, I’ve had to return to work part-time.

As I mentioned before, I’m working for my dad’s chocolate business. I don’t get paid, but I am helping the company grow. So, my dad asked me to work on Mondays and Thursdays. This seemed ok, and we originally planned to do the shortened schedule on those days, with Friday off. Then, as I started working to get more involved in some local activities, the kids’ PE class at the YMCA turned out to be Monday afternoons, so there went any school work on Monday. Then, our co-op classes ended up scheduled for Thursday. So, now our school days are Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday.

Anyway, we’ve had lots of changes this year, and we’re planning some more, so stay tuned. I’ll also be posting our schedules to share with those interested.

Leave a Reply

Join me at: SparkPeople.com

Get a free online diet!