My First Post

I’ve been trying to think for weeks of something to write about for my first post here. I don’t know why it’s so hard. 🙂 I’m a talker.

Anyway, I did finally find something to talk about.

First, let me introduce myself. I’m a stay-at-home-homeschooling mom of 4. I have a beautiful 7-year old daughter we call Peanut. She is our “little mommy”. Peanut is finishing 2nd grade this year. My only son, Bud, is 6-years old and finishing 1st grade. He is all boy, although he is quickly turning into a young man. Sweetpea is 4-years old and begging me to teach her to read. I haven’t been resisting, I just haven’t had time. For most of this year, we tried grades 2, 1, & K, but I was completely overwhelmed with all the help they needed from me. So, for the rest of this year, we are focusing on getting the older two more independent in their reading so I can give the time I need to Sweetpea and her 2-year old sister Pumpkin. Pumpkin is very precocious and we get many comments from people that she is “2 going on 20.”

Anyway, I say I’m stay-at-home, which I mostly am, but I’ve recently been volunteering in my dad’s business, which is also my husband’s full-time job. They make chocolate. Yes, you heard right. They make chocolate. All of the picture’s on their website are of actual pieces of chocolate that they’ve made. And, I’ve recently applied for a job as a tutor. While it’s my dream to stay at home and make money from home (I taught violin lessons at home before we moved last summer), right now I have to pick up a part-time gig. In the meantime, I hope to get myself organized enough to start my dream business at home as a writer.

So, what inspired me to make this first post? I just read another homeschooling mom’s post about socialization. Now, I’m a new reader to Homeschooling on a Budget, but so far, I like her stuff. Scroll down to check out my comment.

Leave a Reply

Join me at: SparkPeople.com

Get a free online diet!